The United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) is committed to a resilient region, shared prosperity, social equity and sustainability. ESCAP works to overcome some of the region's greatest challenges through eight core areas of work. Through its broad mandate of social and economic development, as well as its convening power and expertise, ESCAP acts as a key facilitator for CRVS-related activities and events in the region.

In keeping with broader 2016 commitment from the Asia-Pacific statistical community, Advancing official statistics for the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development: a collective vision and framework for action, ESCAP offers a comprehensive and broad multilateral platform for promoting CRVS as a central development issue at the national, regional and global levels. The ESCAP secretariat also works with Member States and a range of development partners to improve CRVS systems for the betterment of rights, good governance, and timely and reliable data. Specific ESCAP activities include:

  • Convening responsible stakeholders for key CRVS events, including the 2014 Ministerial Conference on CRVS in Asia and the Pacific; outcomes of which include the Declaration of the CRVS Decade (2015-2024), the Ministerial Declaration to "Get Every One in the Picture" and the Regional Action Framework on CRVS.
  • Supporting comprehensive country assessments and the development of multi-sectoral, national CRVS strategies and plans;
  • Promoting development partners to member States through servicing the Regional Partnership on CRVS, as well as the Regional Steering Group on CRVS; and,
  • Supporting capacity-building activities to improve statistical programs around the Asia-Pacific region.
Countries with activities: 
Afghanistan, American Samoa, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands (the), DPR Korea, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Georgia, Guam, Hong Kong, China, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Rep. of), Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Macao, China, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (F.S.), Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands (the), New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands (the), Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines (the), Republic of Korea, Russian Federation (the), Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (the), United States of America, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam
Type of Organisation: 
Multilateral Organisation